The Week in Chess
Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz 2017 - Games and Results
Tue Aug 15 15:16:00 2017
The Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz tournament takes place 14th to 19th August 2017. Two time controls rapid 25 minutes with a 10 second delay each move and blitz 5 minutes with a 3 second delay. Garry Kasparov plays for the first time since the 2016 Ultimate Blitz Challenge. Players: Fabiano Caruana, Sergey Karjakin, Hikaru Nakamura, Viswanathan Anand, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Levon Aronian, David Navara, Le Quang Liem, Lenier Dominguez and Garry Kasparov.
5th Sinquefield Cup 2017 - Games and Results
Sun Aug 13 19:47:00 2017
The 5th Sinquefield Cup took place 2nd to 12th August 2017. Players: Magnus Carlsen, Fabiano Caruana, Sergey Karjakin, Hikaru Nakamura, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Viswanathan Anand, Wesley So, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Levon Aronian and Peter Svidler. Maxime Vachier-Lagrave won with 6/9 half a point clear of Magnus Carlsen.
3rd Wenzhou Grandmaster Match 2017 -
Fri Aug 11 13:39:00 2017
The 3rd Wenzhou Grandmaster Match took place 8th to 11th August 2017. Anish Giri beat Ding Liren 2.5-1.5 in a four game match.
Gelfand-Inarkiev Match 2017 - Games and Results
Thu Aug 10 19:18:00 2017
Tower of Concord Chess Festival takes place 2nd to 13th August 2017. The main event is an 18 game match between Boris Gelfand and Ernesto Inarkiev over one classical and two rapid time controls.
104th British Chess Championships 2017 - Games and Results
Sun Aug 6 19:44:00 2017
The 104th British Chess Championships took place in Llandudno, Wales, 29th July to 6th August 2017. Leading players: David Howell, Gawain Jones, Luke McShane, Jonathan Hawkins, Nicolas Pert, James Adair, Mark Hebden etc. There was a four way tie on 7/9 leading to a rapid tie-break. Gawain Jones beat Craig Hanley in the first round and Luke McShane in the final to take the title.